August 22, 2007

Audible History

I talked a while back about, and how I've been listening to a few different audiobooks while at work. So far, so great.

One I especially wanted to mention is Great Moments in History. By packaging memorable events in a modern "breaking news" format, you hear analysis of the action from various viewpoints, on-the-scene interviews, and an unfolding of the story that is rich in details that dry history books discard as superfluous.

For instance, during the description of the British surrender at Yorktown, we learn that French Admiral de Grasse, who was blockading the British from the sea and preventing reinforcements from landing, suffered from asthma to such an extent that he sent a deputy to the formal surrender ceremony. Similar details are given in every episode, from the trial and death of Socrates to Thermopylae to Hastings to Salem for the witch trials, and more. Altogether an extraordinary experience.

Highly, highly recommended.

Posted by Ted at 07:52 PM | Comments (1172) | TrackBack

September 22, 2006

Another ebook resource

Elegant Solutions Software and Publishing Company (ESSPC) has a fine collection of free ebooks available for downloading to your PDA.

This week's feature on their main page is Inaugural Addresses Of The Presidents Of The United States From George Washington To George W. Bush.

January 20, 2005. George W. Bush has just delivered his second inaugural address to the nation and the world. As soon as it was made available we captured it and included it in this book. Here in one volume are the inaugural address of the presidents of the United States. Presented in chronological order they are a living reminder of those men who have lead this nation in times of peace and war. In times of prosperity and want. In good times and bad. Their words reflect the spirit of the nation over the past two centuries and the beginnings of the third. This is a reissue on January 20, 2001, Inauguration Day, with the inclusion of the second Inaugural Address of George Walker Bush.

They also offer every ebook in their collection (over 500 titles) on one CD-ROM for $7.95 (that's to cover shipping and handling). That's a heckuva deal.

In the non-fiction section, I found lots of Dickens, Kipling, H.G. Wells, Verne and Edgar Rice Burroughs plus much more. I haven't finished exploring all they have to offer, but so far, so great!

Update: Wow, this keeps getting better and better! In the history section I found The Federalist Papers and the personal memiors of Generals Grant and Sheridan.

Posted by Ted at 05:44 AM | Comments (0)

January 24, 2006

Folding Bluetooth Keyboard Review

My latest PDA review has been posted at Mozongo, and this time it's hardware. Head on over and check out this nifty little gizmo that Santa brought me.

Posted by Ted at 05:30 AM | Comments (0) | TrackBack

November 30, 2005

PDA Software Review - Grand Prix Edition

My latest PocketPC software review is up over at This time, it's a race car game that's pretty cool.

Posted by Ted at 04:19 AM | Comments (0) | TrackBack

October 06, 2005

PDA Software Review - CalliGrapher

Over at Mozongo they've posted my latest review. This time it's an excellent handwriting recognition application. Plenty of screen captures accompany my usual wit and wisdom *ahem*, so head on over and check it out.

Posted by Ted at 05:34 PM | Comments (2) | TrackBack

September 01, 2005

PDA Software Review

Check out my latest review over at Mozongo. This time I reviewed one of my all-time favorites, called Slay. It's even better now because you can get it bundled with Pocket PC versions of Risk and Stratego.

Posted by Ted at 12:22 PM | Comments (1) | TrackBack

August 30, 2005

PDA Software Review

My latest review is up over at Mozongo, this time it's a Tetris clone with some interesting variations.

Posted by Ted at 06:13 AM | Comments (0) | TrackBack

August 15, 2005

PDA Software Review - Texas Hold'Em Poker

Ante up, podner! And mosey on over to Mozongo to take a gander at what I think about Texas Hold'Em Poker.

Posted by Ted at 11:40 AM | Comments (1) | TrackBack

August 10, 2005

PDA Software Review - Boulder Dash

Remember Boulder Dash? It's still around, better than ever and it's been ported to the Pocket PC platform. Check out my latest review over at Mozongo.

Posted by Ted at 11:23 AM | Comments (1) | TrackBack

August 05, 2005

Life is a rollercoaster, and lately I've been enjoying the ride

Lots of good things been happening 'round the ol' homestead lately, some I've talked about and some I haven't.

Recently I started posting original themes for Pocket PC's over at A theme is the background picture, along with the associated Start menu graphic and color schemes.

I've got four in the top twenty most popular for the week, totalling over a thousand downloads.

This is one of those tiny happy things that seem to happen when life is going smoothly.

Posted by Ted at 05:39 AM | Comments (1) | TrackBack

July 27, 2005

PDA Software Review - Tank T-34

My latest review is up and this time it's a game.

Also, don't forget the Mozongo PDA forums, a small but growing community.

Posted by Ted at 11:25 AM | Comments (0) | TrackBack

July 19, 2005

PDA Software Review - Spb Pocket Plus

My latest review is up over at Mozongo.

Posted by Ted at 03:26 PM | Comments (0) | TrackBack

New PDA Forum

Mozongo has just set up a new forum system to talk about Pocket PCs, Palms, Smart Phones and other gadgets and gizmos. Since it's so new, they're trying to kick-start community growth by offering a free games give-away.

So if you already use a PDA, or are interested in the latest news about phones and handhelds, give 'em a try. Registration is free.

Posted by Ted at 10:06 AM | Comments (1) | TrackBack

July 12, 2005

New Gig

I've now joined the ranks of people getting paid to write, which is odd because unlike so many bloggers, that's never been my dream.

Anyway, visit and read the first PDA software review by yours truly (Spb Finance v2.0). This is an ongoing job and four times a month I'll be talking about a newly released application in PDA software.

This also marks the first of a new category: PDA Reviews. And in the very near future a link will be added over on the right for Monzongo, which is a nifty place to find out the latest about PDA's, Smart Phones, and other latest and greatest in gadgetry (nope, didn't get paid to write that).

Tell 'em Ted sent ya.

Posted by Ted at 07:05 AM | Comments (6) | TrackBack
Site Meter